Every policy word on this page is CMS's own. Verzi adds pins, receipts, and links only.
Transcutaneous Electrical Nerve Stimulators (TENS) - Policy Article
Article A52520 · 10 versions, 2015 to today · last changed 2023-01-01 (R9)
Version 22 of Article A52520: in force by CMS's dates 2021-11-20 to 2021-11-19. The policy text on this page comes from this archived version.
JA · Noridian 16013
JB · CGS 17013
JC · CGS 18003
JD · Noridian 19003
source
CMS's Who are the MACs jurisdiction pages (DME facts as of 2025-09-30) name each contractor and its states; the MCD's Contractor Information table on every DME LCD prints the contract numbers. Both read 2026-10-09. Verzi adds the state lookup only.
Sections in this version: Article Text · Coding Information. Plus 1 section marked N/A in this version.
Full verbatim text serves to customers · Customer? Log in
Version history, Article A52520
CMS numbers each version. Each box shows the version's window by CMS's stated dates. Select a version to show it on this page. Versions superseded the same day they took effect never governed a claim, so the page hides them until you ask. Version numbers CMS never published to its archive do not exist as documents.
Revision history, every version
CMS's own change log, quoted, 9 entries. It does not change with the version shown. A revision (R-number) is a change CMS logged. The version (vN) is the snapshot that carries it.
R9 · 2023-01-01 · v31
Revision Effective Date: 01/01/2023 POLICY SPECIFIC DOCUMENTATION REQUIREMENTS: Added: Billing information relevant to CMNs, for DOS affected by the CMN elimination 11/17/2022: At this time the 21st Century Cures Act applies to new and revised LCDs which require comment and notice. This revision is to an article that is not a local coverage determination.
R8 · 2021-11-20 · v27
Revision History Effective Date: 11/20/2021 MODIFIERS: Removed: Q0 (zero) modifier from sub-header 05/26/2022: At this time the 21st Century Cures Act applies to new and revised LCDs which require comment and notice. This revision is to an article that is not a local coverage determination.
R7 · 2021-11-20 · v24
Revision History Effective Date: 11/20/2021 REQUIREMENTS FOR SPECIFIC DMEPOS ITEMS PURSUANT TO FINAL RULE 1713 (84 FED. REG VOL 217): Removed: “The link will be located here once it is available.” Added: “The required Face-to-Face Encounter and Written Order Prior to Delivery List is available here.” with a hyperlink to the list 04/14/2022: At this time the 21st Century Cures Act applies to new and revised LCDs which require comment and notice. This revision is to an article that is not a local coverage determination.
R6 · 2021-11-20 · v22
R evision History Effective Date: 11/20/2021 NON-MEDICAL NECESSITY COVERAGE AND PAYMENT RULES: Revised: Language regarding supply allowances during the rental period for clarification POLICY SPECIFIC DOCUMENTATION REQUIREMENTS: Removed: Medical records statement for Criterion III as coverage expired June 7, 2015 for CLBP under NCD 160.27 MODIFIERS: Removed: Q0 modifier statements regarding Criterion III as coverage expired June 7, 2015 for CLBP under NCD 160.27 ICD-10-CM CODES THAT SUPPORT MEDICAL NECESSITY: Removed: ICD-10-CM codes used for CLBP as coverage expired June 7, 2015 for CLBP under NCD 160.27 ICD-10-CM CODES THAT DO NOT SUPPORT MEDICAL NECESSITY: Removed: Statement under paragraph 1 regarding CLBP and all codes not specified 10/07/2021: At this time 21st Century Cures Act applies to new and revised LCDs which require comment and notice. This revision is to an article that is not a local coverage determination.
R5 · 2020-01-01 · v17
Revision History Effective Date: 01/01/2020 NON-MEDICAL NECESSITY COVERAGE AND PAYMENT RULES: Removed: REQUIREMENTS FOR SPECIFIC DMEPOS ITEMS PURSUANT TO 42 CFR 410.38(g) section REQUIREMENTS FOR SPECIFIC DMEPOS ITEMS PURSUANT TO FINAL RULE 1713 (84 Fed. Reg Vol 217): Added: Section and related information based on Final Rule 1713 CERTIFICATE OF MEDICAL NECESSITY (CMN): Revised: “physician” to “practitioner” Revised: “physician” to “treating practitioner” Removed: CMN form version number “(DME form 06.03B)” Revised: “detailed written order” to “Standard Written Order (SWO)” Revised: “detailed written order” to “SWO” ICD-10 CODES THAT SUPPORT MEDICAL NECESSITY: Revised: Section header “ICD-10 Codes that are Covered” updated to “ICD-10 Codes that Support Medical Necessity” ICD-10 CODES THAT DO NOT SUPPORT MEDICAL NECESSITY: Revised: Section header “ICD-10 Codes that are Not Covered” updated to “ICD-10 Codes that DO NOT Support Medical Necessity” 02/27/2020: At this time 21st Century Cures Act applies to new and revised LCDs which require comment and notice. This revision is to an article that is not a local coverage determination.
R4 · 2019-01-01 · v14
Revision History Effective Date: 01/01/2019 ICD-10 CODES THAT ARE COVERED: Added: All diagnosis codes formerly listed in the LCD ICD-10 CODES THAT ARE NOT COVERED: Added: Notation excluding all ICD-10 codes not specified above for TENS used for CLBP. TENS for all other uses not specified 02/21/2019: At this time 21st Century Cures Act applies to new and revised LCDs which require comment and notice. This revision is to an article that is not a local coverage determination.
R3 · 2017-01-01 · v8
Revision Effective Date: 01/01/2017 NON-MEDICAL NECESSITY COVERAGE AND PAYMENT RULES: Added: 42 CFR 410.38(g) POLICY SPECIFIC DOCUMENTATION REQUIREMENTS: Added: Coverage criteria information, CMN and Modifier requirements RELATED LOCAL COVERAGE DOCUMENTS: Added: LCD-related Standard Documentation Requirements Language Article
R2 · 2016-07-01 · v4
Effective July 1, 2016 oversight for DME MAC Articles is the responsibility of CGS Administrators, LLC 18003 and 17013 and Noridian Healthcare Solutions, LLC 19003 and 16013. No other changes have been made to the Articles.
R1 · 2015-10-01 · v3
Revision Effective Date: 10/31/2014 NON-MEDICAL NECESSITY COVERAGE AND PAYMENT RULES: Removed: “When required by state law” from ACA new prescription requirements Revised: Face-to-Face Requirements for treating practitioner
Receipts for auditors
Version 22 of Article A52520, shown on this page: in force by CMS's dates 2021-11-20 to 2021-11-19. Archived 2026-09-26. CMS's copy · Our archived file. 3 of 3 sections are proven word-identical to the archived file.
Every archived version of Article A52520 (10 versions, CMS's dates, window by the as-of rule).
| Document | Version | In force | Archived on | Verify |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Article A52520 | version 2 | 2015-10-01, superseded same day | 2026-09-26 | CMS's copy · Our archived file |
| Article A52520 | version 3 | 2015-10-01 to 2016-06-30 | 2026-09-26 | CMS's copy · Our archived file |
| Article A52520 | version 4 | 2016-07-01 to 2016-12-31 | 2026-09-26 | CMS's copy · Our archived file |
| Article A52520 | version 8 | 2017-01-01 to 2018-12-31 | 2026-09-26 | CMS's copy · Our archived file |
| Article A52520 | version 14 | 2019-01-01 to 2019-12-31 | 2026-09-26 | CMS's copy · Our archived file |
| Article A52520 | version 17 | 2020-01-01 to 2021-11-19 | 2026-09-26 | CMS's copy · Our archived file |
| Article A52520 | version 22 shown | 2021-11-20, superseded same day | 2026-09-26 | CMS's copy · Our archived file |
| Article A52520 | version 24 | 2021-11-20, superseded same day | 2026-09-26 | CMS's copy · Our archived file |
| Article A52520 | version 27 | 2021-11-20 to 2022-12-31 | 2026-09-26 | CMS's copy · Our archived file |
| Article A52520 | version 31 | 2023-01-01 to today | 2026-09-26 | CMS's copy · Our archived file |
Each archived file's page gives its sha256 fingerprint. A copy of the file hashes to the same value, byte for byte.
CMS's live page shows only the current version. To check a passage by eye, open CMS's copy of the same version number. A version's window ends on the earlier of CMS's stated end date and the day before the next version starts.
Every policy word on this page is CMS's, from the archived version named beside it. Verzi adds labels, highlights, citations and links only. Verzi-written summary content on this page: none.